Posted by: Elizabeth Turrentine | July 28, 2013

MAKING ADJUSTMENTS IN ROUGH TIMES WILL GET THINGS BACK ON TRACK

This would be similar to walking a little differently when there is a small rock in your shoe until you have a chance to remove it; or being willing to go to plan B when plan A isn’t working.

We all know that the one thing you can count on is “change.”  I have noticed our expectations are often what trip us up, so we must let go of how we think things must turn out. If we want peace and harmony in our lives, flexibility is the key.

“But we have to have plans and goals in our life,” you say. Yes, of course.  But tell me how many days have you had in the past week that absolutely everything went just the way you planned all day? If you came up with one or two, I’m amazed.

I love the saying, “When we make plans, the Universe laughs.” Huge inconveniences, little interruptions, unexpected delays, and untoward actions by others are constantly sabotaging plans. Sometimes highly significant plans fall through. How do you respond to these intrusions, disappointments and frustrations? Many of us fume and fret, are quick to blame, seem to get satisfaction from venting to as many sympathetic listeners as possible, and playing the “ain’t it awful” game. Others pout, take it personally, and/or let it ruin their day.

When I was a kid and things weren’t going my way, I would get all tearful and grumpy. My dad used to make me very mad because he would pat me on the head (or on the back when I was taller) and say in his wise, sympathetic voice, “Sweetie Pie, life is full of disappointments. You need to learn to accept them.” I didn’t want to hear it. That was not the response I wanted. Being a drama queen, I expected sympathy so I could continue to wallow in my misery. Of course, he was right.

The healthy approach is:

  • acknowledge the situation
  • refrain from blaming and commiserating
  • figure out, and go with plan B

and, perhaps most importantly . . .

  • let it go and move on.

What is your approach when things don’t go as expected? Try taking some  deep breaths and being very still for a moment. This will help you think of Plan B.

Or would you rather stay mad?

Bottom line: Flexibility is good. When I lost a job (that I loved),  I ended up with a position in Hawaii!         Plan B can be your ultimate good!

Leave a Reply

Categories

